Real Beauty Sketches with Dove

The campaign I chose to write about was Dove’s real beauty sketches.
There are a couple of reasons why I chose this campaign. First
I chose it because it was globally successful.
It had 3.8 Billion Global Impressions.
73.4 Million Youtube Views
and it was the 4th Most shared Ad ever on Youtube.

Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 12.23.59 AM Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 12.24.40 AM Screen Shot 2015-03-02 at 12.25.41 AM

I remember seeing the video pop up on my facebook feed. I originally thought that the point of this was to show how we are harder on ourselves. Our worst critic. But after reading the synopsis I learned that it was showing how woman are more beautiful than they think. Don’t get me wrong that’s nice and all, but why is it always about beauty with women. No on ever focuses on their qualities or qualifications. Idk. It was nice but I think Dove and society should go deeper.

Published by

wakeupmomo

I'm just a person tired of standard. The everyday required. Society expectations. So I'm going against it...... or at least writing about it

2 thoughts on “Real Beauty Sketches with Dove”

  1. I think by now I’ve seen this campaign maybe 7 times from each professor at SCAD. But I always thought the ad was a bit cheesy and took itself too seriously. Maybe it’s because I am male and far away from the target audience but I prefer the parody advertisement they made for sketching based on what men said to the sketch artist. Then again, maybe I spend too much time on Youtube.

    Like

  2. I’ve always loved this campaign. It is so powerful towards women who always think less of themselves then what others see. They used such a creative way to show how people look down on themselves way too frequently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

