The Social Media Effect

Social media is apart of my everyday life. I know this may sound crazy to some but I usually start off my day on Social media. My alarm goes off at seven fifteen am. and the first thing I do before i even use the bathroom is check and or update my social media. It’s not that i am concerned with the amount of followers I have or even what’s going on in others lives because personally I use my social networks and media as a platform to brand myself and network to a different audience. I won’t lie yea I might follow some people who might not fall into my networking category but I am a firm believer of what you put out should be a reflection of who you are as a person. The technological advances that we are now seeing with technology but also social media is somewhat unbelievable seeing as just a mere decade ago none of this existed. I’ve recently been reading facts on social media and did you know that in the 5 minutes it takes you to read this blog post up to 300 hours of video will be uploaded to YouTube. It’s not odd to see people on social media now a days as just two weeks ago I posted a picture of my art on facebook and my fifth grade teacher Mrs. Betcher commented on my art amazed at what I how I spent  the last 11 years of my life and she even went as far as to tag me in a post of a portrait  I drew of Rosa Parks for black history month in 5th grade.

74 percent of online adults use social media, I alone use: twitter, facebook, youtube, instagram,behance,snapchat,pandora,soundcloud,and pinterest and that just me naming a few that i use daily without even looking at my iphone or ipad mini.Social media is a great way to interact with the world around you. Yes like anything else it has its faults but its all about how you use it. A total of 91 percent of mobile internet access is for social media and activities no wonder why they have unlimited data packages now. Youtube has over 1 billion visitors per month and nearly two thirds of those viewers have their own channel.Social media aslo controls the market for sales as well as 74 percent of consumers rely on social media to influence their purchasing decisions including myself at times. The impact that social media has is amazing and quite personally a movement itself. It plays such a big role in the advertising field today as most big businesses  use these sort of sites as not only kickstarters but as a way to  market themselves to a more diverse young market. Social media advertising affects sales as well. Either way social media affects us all in some form or fashion.

4 thoughts on “The Social Media Effect”

  1. Hey! I agree with you that it’s incredible to think how fast social media has emerged and how much we use it. No one would have predicted 10 years ago how much the way we communicate has changed. I do agree also with the fact that social media is great for professional purposes and that it has changed completely the way we network. However, I do think that social media had a negative impact in a lot of people (including me). I’m not saying it is not a great thing, but I do think that social media is a great tool as long as we know how and when to use it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice response Cam. It’s funny that you mention social media bringing you back into contact with your 5th grade teacher. I’ve had reconnected with people through Facebook who I haven’t seen, heard or talked to in years. It’s almost scary how close, transparent and accessible it makes us to the world. And thanks for the statistics, if 300 videos are being uploaded I can’t imagine how many tweets and posts on instagram are going out in that length of time.

    Like

  3. Man Cam…. You make me feel like I’m a man from the medieval time….. Last post I’ve put on Facebook was December and I only use Facebook, YouTube and LinkedIn. I guess you already know this cause we talked about this in Dr. Scott’s class last semester. I agree with you on the business part. I agree it will be really useful if you know for sure as we advertisers should be able to use Social Media fluently…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

